top of page

Unshakable Essentials


So don’t turn a deaf ear to these gracious words. If those who ignored earthly warnings didn’t get away with it, what will happen to us if we turn our backs on heavenly warnings? His voice that time shook the earth to its foundations; this time—he’s told us this quite plainly—he’ll also rock the heavens: “One last shaking, from top to bottom, stem to stern.” The phrase “one last shaking” means a thorough housecleaning, getting rid of all the historical and religious junk so that the unshakable essentials stand clear and uncluttered. -Hebrews 12:25-27

When I travel I try to pack lightly. I really do. But sometimes I have more than I need, and Delta is like a loyal boyfriend who accepts all my excess baggage.

One time in particular, I was headed for Europe and decided to pack my guitar. Not because I needed it for the trip specifically. I was more terrified of leaving it at home with my family, who I knew would attempt forming a folk band if I left them unattended with any stringed instrument.

I put extra care into packing Rose (my guitar). I spent extra money getting her properly boarded, extra time dragging her around, and extra anxiety on the 13 hour flight wondering if she was safe with all the other baggage or if she was being bullied by the Barbie suitcases because she didn't have cool zippers and sparkly wheels. Did I mention the flight was 13 hours?

That 13-hour flight shook me up. I was so focused on worrying about my guitar I couldn’t think of anything else. Couldn't mentally prepare for the work I had to do when I landed. I prayed on that flight, but for my guitars safety instead of my own safety...which really makes no sense now that I’m getting this out. This is good.

When you go through a shake down, when your life becomes difficult, what is the first thing you reach for? Calling your best friend to vent? A glass of wine? Spending money? Earning money? What do you consider essentials in your life? If your life was to go through a sand sifter, what would remain in the pan? Because if it's not your faith in God and your knowledge that He is good and able and willing, then it will be sifted out eventually. If not this shakedown, then the next.

It is imperative to our relationship with God that we make our faith not just an unshakeable essential, but the ONLY unshakable essential. When we try to pair faith with earthly things, we end up comparing faith with earthly things. "I could make more money or I could take the job God is calling me to do...?" But when God is the only essential that remains in a shakedown, the decision is clear. It may not be easy, but it is clear.

Hebrews 12 continues with:

"Do you see what we’ve got? An unshakable kingdom! And do you see how thankful we must be? Not only thankful, but brimming with worship, deeply reverent before God. For God is not an indifferent bystander. He’s actively cleaning house, torching all tha8 needs to burn, and he won’t quit until it’s all cleansed. God himself is Fire!" -Hebrews 12:27-29

God has given us access to an UNSHAKABLE Kingdom. It is not going anywhere. It will never go through a sand sifter, it will never waiver in war, it is a Kingdom we get to inherit. He will not stand by, but be active in our lives! He will rid our lives of the things we have made essentials and instead show us that all we need is Him. For He is the only essential that has given to us exactly what we need. Salvation and everlasting love. (When was the last time a glass of wine gave you that?) A reason to continually praise God and consistently make Him our unshakable essential.


bottom of page