top of page

Why plotting your revenge is a terrible idea.


4 While David was in the wilderness, he heard that Nabal was shearing sheep. 5 So he sent ten young men and said to them, “Go up to Nabal at Carmel and greet him in my name. 6 Say to him: ‘Long life to you! Good health to you and your household! And good health to all that is yours! 7 “‘Now I hear that it is sheep-shearing time. When your shepherds were with us, we did not mistreat them, and the whole time they were at Carmel nothing of theirs was missing. 8 Ask your own servants and they will tell you. Therefore be favorable toward my men, since we come at a festive time. Please give your servants and your son David whatever you can find for them.’” 9 When David’s men arrived, they gave Nabal this message in David’s name. Then they waited.

10 Nabal answered David’s servants, “Who is this David? Who is this son of Jesse? Many servants are breaking away from their masters these days. 11 Why should I take my bread and water, and the meat I have slaughtered for my shearers, and give it to men coming from who knows where?” 1 Samuel 25:4-11

\20 As Abigaile [Nabal's wife] came riding her donkey into a mountain ravine, there were David and his men descending toward her, and she met them. 21 David had just said, “It’s been useless—all my watching over this fellow’s property in the wilderness so that nothing of his was missing. He has paid me back evil for good. 22 May God deal with David,[c] be it ever so severely, if by morning I leave alive one male of all who belong to him!” 1 Samuel 25: 20-22

26 And now, my lord, as surely as theLord your God lives and as you live, since the Lord has kept you from bloodshedand from avenging yourself with your own hands, may your enemies and all who are intent on harming my lord be like Nabal. 27 And let this gift, which your servant has brought to my lord, be given to the men who follow you. 1 Samuel 25: 26-27

38 About ten days later, the Lord struck Nabal and he died.- 1 Samuel 26:38

I'm in kindergarten. It's Friday. And that means it's treasure day. Treasure day was a big day for me because treasure day was the day every kid who made it through the week without pulling a card got a treasure. And I never got a treasure. But this was my week. I'd had an emotional journey of self-discovery after watching the Reading Rainbow episode about doing your best.

I was doing my best.

And I had my eye on this strawberry ring pop my friend Victoria had told me about. She said it was at the bottom of the treasure chest so no one would find it but me. And Victoria had Cinderella light up shoes, so she was completely trustworthy.

But before I was called up to claim my ring pop, Jake was called. And Jake, out of pure spite, dug to the bottom of treasure chest and took my ring pop. Jake got a treasure every week. His cubby was filled of animal erasers and key chains from fast food restaurants. Why did he need MY ring pop?

So the next week I decided it was my duty to punish Jake. He would get a card pulled and lose any shred of dignity he had, that smug ring pop stealing, Boy Scout saluting Jake.

I cried at naptime and told the teacher Jake was calling me names. Which was a complete lie.

I "fell" at lunch and said Jake pushed me. Another lie. Which was also a bit of a stretch considering Jake wasn't at school that day.

In the end, Jake pulled a card. And I felt even worse afterwards, not only because I pulled a card myself for sticking my tongue out at the librarian, but also because I realized punishing Jake didn't bring back my ring pop.

Punishing Jake only made it worse for both of us.

When we take matters into our own hands, we are claiming responsibility for something we have no business being responsible for. Punishing others when punishment is not ours to enforce only creates turmoil and anger within us. God is a God of justice. He will bless and discipline us in perfect harmony.

David was about to commit a punishment he saw fit for the way Nabal had treated him. Nabal did not give David his ring pop! But God stepped in. God sent Abigail. And in 10 days, Nabal died. David did not murder Nabal.

I'm not saying that if you wait long enough, all your enemies will die. But God wants you to know that He is the master of justice, so we don't have to be.

Your circumstances may not seem fair or avenged at this moment, but on the timeline of eternity, all God’s children receive everything they need. So rest easy knowing you do not need to punish those you feel have wronged you. You simply need to love them. And allow God to deliver justice in a way we never can, with perfect grace and mercy.


bottom of page